PDA

View Full Version : Unlicensed MSRS?


chimaera
June 12th, 2007, 01:54 AM
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=362373

Selling: http://www.makemyspacefriends.com/ without mention of license - seems dodgy.

Just thought I'd let you know.

shimmeringgraphix
June 12th, 2007, 06:19 AM
Probably doesn't have a license since he is no longer selling it.

laars
June 12th, 2007, 06:23 AM
i didn't see them claiming to have one, maybe they edited their post?

shimmeringgraphix
June 12th, 2007, 06:36 AM
Well it was just the thing that he never really answered the question, If he had a license or not.

chimaera
June 20th, 2007, 02:07 AM
Here's another one potentially:
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=371470
www.myspacemetro.com

Far from playing "validation police", it just pisses me off that people think they can get away with crap like this.

MKInfo
June 20th, 2007, 04:05 AM
It's always good to report on things like this I think.
If they are dodgy they are most likely people who would steal your content too.

omen
June 20th, 2007, 04:16 AM
You know what's even funnier. In that same thread, the guy from "pimpmyms" has posted in there and he's got Greg-J's avatar from myspacepros as his DP avatar.

omen
June 20th, 2007, 04:18 AM
http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/5752/lololjw5.jpg

!

treacle
June 20th, 2007, 04:29 AM
Yes I noticed that about the avatar and was wondering if he was pretending to be Greg, until I read his posts and the standard of English.

chimaera
June 20th, 2007, 04:45 AM
Even funnier is that he's now selling his own domain/site and is "including the script", which is also an MSRS rip by the looks:

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=372157

omen
June 20th, 2007, 04:56 AM
Chimaera needs a title under her name: "MSRS Validation Police" hehe. No offence or anything :)

Good to see people like this in the community!

Scilynt
June 20th, 2007, 05:18 AM
Yes, always good to have people looking out for stuff like this. Don't be ashamed at all chimaera! Thanks for watching ;).

As for the person with the "greg" avatar, who knows, maybe is is Greg trying to test the sale and see if he sells...then "WHAM" lol. Maybe the icon is just a way for those "in the know" to know it's Greg taking care of business ;). Or maybe just some *** that stole Gregs logo lol.

Cyclops
June 20th, 2007, 05:19 AM
http://www.pimpmyms.com/ is also for sale on DP.

Precious
June 20th, 2007, 05:46 AM
I brought it to Greg's attention about pimpmyms's sites, and Greg already verified a few days ago, that those ARE NOT licensed scripts. I havn't seen him do anything yet though, so idk?

Connections
June 20th, 2007, 06:26 AM
the seller is a member here ive seen the sig http://www.pimpmyms.com around

Cyclops
June 20th, 2007, 06:41 AM
the seller is a member here ive seen the sig http://www.pimpmyms.com around
"Was" a member is the correct term, he's been banned. Take note Connections, people do get banned from here.

chimaera
June 20th, 2007, 06:50 AM
Chimaera needs a title under her name: "MSRS Validation Police" hehe. No offence or anything :)
Well chimaera is a he, but eh =0p

I just spend too much time looking at the sites for sale sections of various forums ...

Cyclops
June 20th, 2007, 07:02 AM
Well I don't think it's going to sell it on DP, we pretty much killed his sales thread there. He will probably pop up on Sitepoint with it next.

I also noticed he's been looking at MSRS sites for sale, I'm thinking he's trying to get one with a licence then sell off as many sites as he can with that licence.

Greg-J
June 20th, 2007, 12:47 PM
I've been dealing with it, yes - but I love to see people this involved with thwarting piracy.

chimaera
June 20th, 2007, 02:44 PM
At the risk of looking like I have no life, and officially earning the title Mrs MSRS Validation Police ... this one could be dodgy too:
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=372772

:alucard:

Scilynt
June 20th, 2007, 02:51 PM
At the risk of looking like I have no life, and officially earning the title Mrs MSRS Validation Police ... this one could be dodgy too:
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=372772

:alucard:lol, just came here to post that one too. So at the very least you have as much life of a life as I do hahah.

raven
June 20th, 2007, 04:55 PM
At the risk of looking like I have no life, and officially earning the title Mrs MSRS Validation Police ... this one could be dodgy too:
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=372772

:alucard:


Well it is dodgy too lol. I am not selling the script only the URL. i bought the script from ebay for $30. :( At the time I did not know it was not a legal copy. Because the person said he owned it. Well I'm still very new to web sites. But I have decided to give up on everything.

Sean
June 20th, 2007, 05:54 PM
Well it is dodgy too lol. I am not selling the script only the URL. i bought the script from ebay for $30. :( At the time I did not know it was not a legal copy. Because the person said he owned it. Well I'm still very new to web sites. But I have decided to give up on everything.

Never buy scripts on ebay!

raven
June 21st, 2007, 03:40 PM
I know that now. I'm still new to the game . that's why I messed up .

bosshogg01
June 21st, 2007, 03:59 PM
I know that now. I'm still new to the game . that's why I messed up .

we all make mistakes! I was a sucker and bought the 250meg script last year that you can get every else for free

letoutpuissant
June 21st, 2007, 04:19 PM
Yeah I was in contact with the owner of the MSCMS script he was distributing and they are going to take action against him as well. He not only does not have a valid license for his sites but he again was also letting people download the script content for free.

He's already been banned here several times too... things like that start to really piss you off.

Precious
June 22nd, 2007, 04:32 AM
we all make mistakes! I was a sucker and bought the 250meg script last year that you can get every else for free
You did that too?!!??! I thought I was the only idiot who did that. lol

Marx
June 22nd, 2007, 04:36 AM
Talking about licensing issues, can Greg or Des contact me regarding a similar issue ?

Tried PMing but no got no response

danos880
June 22nd, 2007, 05:06 AM
A few months ago I was looking for a unique script and posted a project on scriptlance for a resource site,one of the bidders showed me what I later found out to be the MSRS script. He wanted $60 for it I think. Then I stumbled here and found out the true licenced cost.

Scilynt
June 22nd, 2007, 05:31 AM
A few months ago I was looking for a unique script and posted a project on scriptlance for a resource site,one of the bidders showed me what I later found out to be the MSRS script. He wanted $60 for it I think. Then I stumbled here and found out the true licenced cost.Can you go back into your history on scriptlance and provide Greg with the info on the "programmer" who sold it to you?

danos880
June 22nd, 2007, 05:48 AM
I'll check,but think I deleted that one.

danos880
June 22nd, 2007, 05:56 AM
www.myspacescriptz.com (http://www.myspacescriptz.com)
is the demo URL,creator2000 "Programmer"

bosshogg01
June 22nd, 2007, 05:58 AM
Are there any clones of MSRS that people are using?

danos880
June 22nd, 2007, 06:00 AM
Doubt that one is a clone

Scilynt
June 22nd, 2007, 06:02 AM
myspacescriptz.com was the original demo site Greg used to show what MSRS was.

danos880
June 22nd, 2007, 06:06 AM
I see,thats the one he refered me to for the demo. So is he just selling the script over and over after buying it once or installing it for someone? I don't really understand how all that works.

Scilynt
June 22nd, 2007, 06:08 AM
who do you mean by "he"?

The scammer may just be trying to sell copies but those won't last long.

If you mean Greg, you purchase a license to use and provide the domain it will be on. There are various tracking methods used to make sure a license is legit.

danos880
June 22nd, 2007, 06:11 AM
he-the programmer
like I said the HE gave myspacescriptz.com as the demo,

Scilynt
June 22nd, 2007, 06:14 AM
And you paid him and he sent you files? If that is the case you got scammed and should report him on scriptlance and give his info to Greg.

magnet2
June 22nd, 2007, 06:21 AM
bah instead of everyone running the same boring script, why don't you guys build one yourself. There's no point launching 400 look-a-like sites with the same content :d

Cyclops
June 22nd, 2007, 06:36 AM
bah instead of everyone running the same boring script, why don't you guys build one yourself. There's no point launching 400 look-a-like sites with the same content :d
That would be a good point but we who have bought the MSRS script from Greg aren't exactly dummies, we found that the income from a MSRS exceded the income from any other Myspace resource site by far, traffic being the same that is.
We also added our own content and made changes to the apperance.

I have a few MSRS sites and still have some other Myspace Resource sites that I never changed over ... and the revenue from the MSRS is always much higher.

GurillaNET
June 22nd, 2007, 01:54 PM
=/ ehhh
this is what devalues a script ><

marshall_26
June 23rd, 2007, 04:00 PM
Even funnier is that he's now selling his own domain/site and is "including the script", which is also an MSRS rip by the looks:

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=372157


That's profilecms the older version before all the fancy ajax ;)

chimaera
June 25th, 2007, 05:48 AM
Yeah, he changed the script - it was MSRS before.