View Full Version : worst than being blacklisted.
spokenforxx
September 10th, 2008, 09:34 AM
Now one of my sites is completely banned from Myspace, with this warning.
The link you are trying to visit has been disabled.
You have reached a link that is no longer in service. That means the link was very naughty, and, much like head lice, had to be eliminated before it spread.
You may be asking yourself, 'Hey, what was it about that link that got it in trouble?' An excellent question! Usually, it's one of the following reasons:
- The link was spam! No one likes spammers, and we don't like their links.
- You almost got phished! There are people out there who want to steal your MySpace password. They want to log in as you and send spam, harass your friends, change your profile, and generally run amok. Phishing pages are usually designed to look like MySpace to trick you. Other sites may also ask for your MySpace login information to customize your profile, insert videos or slide shows, track visitors, or any number of other things.Don't make it easy for them. ONLY USE YOUR MYSPACE LOGIN INFO ON WWW.MYSPACE.COM!!
- Viruses are not fun! Neither is adware, spyware, or malware. We cut the links to places that are known sources of infection.
If you really did want to check out some spam, viruses, or phishing pages, we're really sorry to have interrupted. We're sure you can find it elsewhere. There's plenty on the Internet
Nora
September 10th, 2008, 09:36 AM
Had that happen too once.. but I only got that warning when I clicked on the link from my stats. It would give the normal warning on Myspace itself. Hope that's the case for your site too..
spokenforxx
September 10th, 2008, 09:36 AM
Oh and they emailed me this, it has to be gigya.:
Hello,
Upon review, it was found that your site is currently posting content to user
profiles by means of asking for MySpace.com profile login credentials.
Due to the fore mentioned activity the domain has been disabled on MySpace.com and
will remain disabled until said domain no longer acquires login credentials.
Please note posting content to MySpace.com by means of acquiring login credentials
is prohibited.
If you wish to allow the direct posting of content to MySpace, please use the Post
to MySpace feature. For additional information on the Post to Myspace feature,
please visit:
http://www.myspace.com/posttomyspace
Clicking on the Developer Documentation link on the Post to MySpace page will
provide all needed information regarding implementation of Post to MySpace.
Thank You,
MySpace.com
chprosites
September 10th, 2008, 09:44 AM
You should try sending your bulletins to another page on your site besides the main page
ex. http://yoursites.com/index.php
or send them to another one of your sites pages that is whitelisted and then redirect them to your desired page.
spokenforxx
September 10th, 2008, 09:48 AM
Nope, they banned it completely. Read the email they sent me. DAMN GIGYA.
WTF I'm so pissed, this **** always happens to be right before I'm going on a holiday, and I'm going to have to bring my laptop tomorrow. :censored::censored:
applebooty
September 10th, 2008, 09:56 AM
Can't you just contact them and see if you're able to change something?
spokenforxx
September 10th, 2008, 10:00 AM
I'm removing the "useMyspaceAPI : 'false'," in the gigya forms, have contacted both Myspace and Gigya. I am pissed because someone from Gigya personally told me its safe to use it because Gigya called Myspace up and got permission.
Damn Gigya.
adrian_nicolas
September 10th, 2008, 10:06 AM
that's weird. i got whitelisted 3 days ago and i use gigya.
Jen
September 10th, 2008, 10:06 AM
Until Myspace themselves posts a statement that they are in partnership with Gigya....it shouldn't be used.....
tylaa
September 10th, 2008, 10:15 AM
clear your cache/cookies and then try going to it again.. i clicked on a site that i know wouldn't be filtered and i got the same message, but then i tried it later and it went straight to it :s
stephysan
September 10th, 2008, 10:35 AM
hm gigya did contacted myspace... just try to get whitelsited again. or at least to get the warning page to show
hmm do you have aim? you can email and ask why did they do that and mention that gigya is safe
spokenforxx
September 10th, 2008, 10:52 AM
Laura from Gigya wrote back to me. Kudos for being so efficient. Heres what she said.
"We do have clearance from the head of Security Nicholas Cummins to use our Gigya Autopost.
May I know when this email was sent? Sometimes it takes a little while for information to be passed down, and this could have happened. In the email, they do not specifically mentioned Gigya - is there anything else on your site that might be triggering this?
Do contact them again and ask them for a specific URL or example of where the violation is. If that does not work, we will try to contact them on your behalf."
stoplightt
September 10th, 2008, 10:59 AM
isnt in their terms now that websites cant use auto inserction for layouts and graphics?
and then gigya changes back, what the **** is with that?
:hammer:
rachacha
September 10th, 2008, 12:27 PM
I would be effing pissed too. I didn't know that myspace actually "blacklisted" sites. I had tried getting my old site whitelisted for the longest time, and I had finally given up. :gun_bandana:
I hope that you can work something out with myspace...
shayna107
September 10th, 2008, 12:41 PM
i was told it was safe to and had nothing to worry about :( and im blacklisted prolly gonna be banned now too:(
Gigya, Inc
September 10th, 2008, 01:13 PM
This is Patrick from Gigya.
I just got off the phone with the team at Myspace that handles all "blacklisting". They have AGAIN assured me that no site will be blacklisted for using Gigya.
If Myspace has indicated that your site has been blacklisted for using Gigya, please forward me that email (patrick [at] gigya-inc.com) and I will connect you directly with Myspace to resolve that issue.
We have been working closely with Myspace over the last month. I assure everyone that both Myspace and Gigya are taking this issue very seriously.
Please contact me (patrick [at] gigya-inc.com) or Laura (laura [at] gigya-inc.com) with any concerns.
Thanks,
Patrick & the Gigya Team
patrick [at] gigya-inc.com
stoplightt
September 10th, 2008, 01:20 PM
We have been working closely with Myspace over the last month.
why is Myspace working with Gigya? :O
tylaa
September 10th, 2008, 01:33 PM
maybe so they won't be threatened with another lawsuit :P
wce
September 10th, 2008, 02:21 PM
This is Patrick from Gigya.
I just got off the phone with the team at Myspace that handles all "blacklisting". They have AGAIN assured me that no site will be blacklisted for using Gigya.
If Myspace has indicated that your site has been blacklisted for using Gigya, please forward me that email (patrick [at] gigya-inc.com) and I will connect you directly with Myspace to resolve that issue.
We have been working closely with Myspace over the last month. I assure everyone that both Myspace and Gigya are taking this issue very seriously.
Please contact me (patrick [at] gigya-inc.com) or Laura (laura [at] gigya-inc.com) with any concerns.
Thanks,
Patrick & the Gigya Team
patrick [at] gigya-inc.com
Since you're so close with them, would you mind trying to find out why out of the blue certain sites that have been in good standing with them since the implementation of msplinks have been refiltered again and its just the main page being filtered? Possibly let them know they have some sort of glitch? That would be cool and certainly make us feel better about Gigya :)
Gigya, Inc
September 10th, 2008, 03:10 PM
Hi All,
Myspace has informed me that all requests to be whitelisted should be sent to
abuse [at] support.myspace.com
Again, any issue that Myspace has indicated is related to Gigya, please forward to us (patrick [at] gigya-inc.com) and we will get that cleared up immediately.
In the past 24 hours, they recently made a change to msplinks, and WCE is right, they have reported that there are a couple of glitches. They are working right now to get that cleared up.
applebooty
September 10th, 2008, 03:12 PM
Abuse@myspace? Why abuse?
cheeseontoast
September 10th, 2008, 03:27 PM
Abuse@myspace? Why abuse?
It's all that department I assume. Blacklist/Whitelist all came from people abusing MySpace for spam.
Good to see informed replies from Gigya, thanks!
Gigya, Inc
September 10th, 2008, 04:10 PM
That is correct, the msplinks is under the control of that department:
Again, it is:
abuse [at] support.myspace.com
Connections
September 10th, 2008, 10:54 PM
buy another domain and then re direct that to the other main URL..???
alot of people do that style of thing eveyr where...
spokenforxx
September 15th, 2008, 02:15 PM
Just for everyone's info, thanks to Gigya's swift response and contacting Myspace, al my sites are again whitelisted. :clap:
John
September 15th, 2008, 02:24 PM
Laura from Gigya wrote back to me. Kudos for being so efficient. Heres what she said."We do have clearance from the head of Security Nicholas Cummins to use our Gigya Autopost.
"
She lied to you, Nick Cummins is not the head of Security its Ilka Cunningham.
Nick Cummins handles the Whitelist.
jvuonger
September 15th, 2008, 02:35 PM
Just for everyone's info, thanks to Gigya's swift response and contacting Myspace, al my sites are again whitelisted. :clap:
That was fast...sorta....good for them.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.