View Full Version : $%^@#! MySpace...
gowanstl24
July 1st, 2008, 04:00 PM
Well. After a couple months I finally got a response back about whitelisting my site. At first it came back with a "we can't prove you're the owner" because I didn't send the message through my domain. I was expecting that though (something I realized after I had already sent my request).
So I did that, and today they came back with:
Hello,
In addition to the items mentioned prior the site was found to contain
Spyware.
Upon visiting the site it launched a popup advertisement for a registry
cleaner, the file called "Registry CLeaner" available at zoombli.com
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/zoombli.com/summary/
As such, the request has been declined and the domain will not be
whitelisted, all future requests to whitelist the domain will be denied due
to the risk ***ociated with your site.
--
MySpace.com
****
Ya right. I host spyware on my freakin' site. I have ValueClick pop-unders and I have NEVER seen anything shady pop up when I check the site out. So this one time they go there and that lame *** add shows up. #$%#ing figures!!!
So, while they will probably delete this straight off, I sent back one last E-mail telling them about ValueClick (which I already did in my first E-mail) again, and asked why I just can't take the pop-under off if it is a problem. They were acting like I put something in my site on purpose!
I told them to let me know if this is doable and that I wouldn't take the pop-unders down until I heard back. F-them...if they are gonna be retards, I'm certainly not gonna lose money because of them too.
Mostly I just feel insulted. I've worked my *** off on that site for the past year+. I'm not some loser who would do something like that intentionally. Hell, I even censor my site so it's teen-friendly. I always have. F I'm a 31 year old mother of 2 - I do this because I enjoy making graphics, not because I'm trying to scam myspace users.
:surrender:
First I can't get past a f-ing pr1, and now I can't get whitelisted. :poop:
trixinitynet
July 1st, 2008, 04:04 PM
How long of a message are you sending?
If you send something short and sweet like "Hi my website is ___ and I would like to be considered for whitelisting, my site is completely family friendly. Thank You."
But yea... idk myspace has automatic things everywhere, it may just be an error message.
gowanstl24
July 1st, 2008, 04:09 PM
They were both short (though this third one was longer because of what happened). :) Their reply was much longer than what I sent them. I brought up valueclick to them because of an issue someone else had with getting whitelisted while using their ads. I was just trying to be proactive.
Oh well. I guess I should just be happy that they finally got back to me. I'm not invisible! :)
Smurfwicked
July 1st, 2008, 04:15 PM
That stinks, but prehaps you still do got a chance if you remove the popups and retry. I just can't imagine them having a list of "sites we'll never white list."
Maybe others will learn from this and be hessitant to using popups.
Jessica61981
July 1st, 2008, 04:16 PM
I emailed them to this addresss: ca-help@support.myspace.com
Hello,
I am the owner of several Myspace resource sites and would like to ask
if I can have them added to your whitelist. All of my sites are clean
and DO NOT contain adware, spyware, forced downloads, or any
similar junk.
These are my sites URL's
www.yoursitehere.com
Thank you for your time and consideration.
Less than 24 hours it was whitelisted.
stoplightt
July 1st, 2008, 04:18 PM
did you send it from your admin email?
and thats not right that they said no because of your ads.
=/
gowanstl24
July 1st, 2008, 04:22 PM
Ya - it was from my admin E-mail this time. I think I will try the ca- address. I bet it's a whole 'nother group of people. Canada, right?
I was thinking that permanent ban thing sounded a little fishy too..I've never heard of that before.
I would rather be whitelisted than make $$ through ValueClick. I guess I will take it down, at least for now.
Jessica61981
July 1st, 2008, 04:25 PM
Oh I didn't even use my @mysite.com email address.
I just used a gmail one.
i will cross my fingers for you :clover:
gowanstl24
July 1st, 2008, 04:25 PM
There...it's gone. I was making good money with it too. :(
Times like this, I wish I had a friend in their admin section. :/
gowanstl24
July 1st, 2008, 04:26 PM
Thanks Jessica! :)
stoplightt
July 1st, 2008, 04:27 PM
There...it's gone. I was making good money with it too. :(
Times like this, I wish I had a friend in their admin section. :/
i wish i had one too
lmfao
=/
gowanstl24
July 1st, 2008, 04:42 PM
I emailed them to this addresss: ca-help@support.myspace.com
Less than 24 hours it was whitelisted.
No joke - That's almost word for word what I sent them originally! lol. Guess it had everything to do with the ad.
I took that stupid ad down. I've had some past experience with paypopup and their ads all but hijacked the entire webpage you were on, so you would have to close it out and go back to the site manually. It's specifically why I went with VC - I thought they had relatively reputable ads and I had heard great things about them.
pttttbh grumble..
Smurfwicked
July 1st, 2008, 04:53 PM
Just curious... and please don't take the wrong way! Is using popup adverts the only way you can profit off your sites or is it more of just wantting to make the most possible off your sites? Reason I ask is because I don't think I'd even bother with owning a site that required such ads to keep running.
arbak3
July 1st, 2008, 04:57 PM
I don't see how the "Registry CLeaner" popup is spyware. Its a legit VCM advertisement. Iv seen it on a bunch of websites...
Smurfwicked, most people are in this business not only because they like it but because there trying to make a living. If popups make her extra money, why not put them? I don't think she HAS to in order to keep her site, but its extra money and we all know popups do have the highest CPM value...
gowanstl24
July 1st, 2008, 05:06 PM
I had Adsense first. Then I heard good things about valueclick so I thought I would hook up with them, and I was accepted. Since my site already had prominent adsense ads, I thought I would try a pop-under. IMO - less irritating than a regular pop-up ad. It's not in your face.
Believe me, when I first started my site, it had no ads, and I wasn't in it to make a profit. I was solely in it for the love of graphics and glitter. Ads were just a next level almost a year later. I still love graphics, but I figured, if I could make $ then bonus! :) That's why I try to stick to the reputable ad companies - I won't stoop so low that I have hijacking ads, dating ads, or worse on my site.
I certainly don't have the ads up to pay for my site or anything. My husband has always paid for my hosting, so it's not an issue. Money I make from ads is play money and I'm not about to give that up. :D I get what you mean though...I was a bit of an anti-ad snob if you will when I first started out lol.
P.S. Ya, the CPM on my pop under was great - better than all my adsense ads put together! :O Plus I had it set up so each visitor would see one ad every 12 hours. I thought that was reasonable. :)
gowanstl24
July 3rd, 2008, 08:33 PM
Well I might as well post this here too...
Update -
So, someone gave me the ca- MySpace admin address, and I sent a new E-mail to them. It was short, to the point and I didn't mention what happened before.
But, before I did that, I received a response from the first address/correspondence after I asked if I could just take the damn pop-under off. Here was their entire response:
"Hello,
Unfortunatally the domain will not be whitelisted. "
They couldn't even take the time to spell unfortunately right! lol I'm so irritated still, that I decided to leave a comment on Tom's blog about that phishing page. I tried entering my comment twice, but it went straight to the blog without posting my comment or saying it had to be approved first. I'm pretty sure they didn't lock the comments, because the last one was on the 20th.
Their server was hella slow, but I was still like GRRRRR!
I'm still waiting for a reply from the ca- address. I've put the ad back up, but I deleted all of the registry cleaner ads, plus the other ads flagged by valueclick for good measure.
At this rate, VC is gonna kill my account, because those cleaner ads had the highest clickthrough rate! It's not like I have a lot of traffic to begin with.
oof. :hang:
SharperDesigns
July 7th, 2008, 07:17 PM
Sorry but what is whitelisting?
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.