View Full Version : How do you deal?
TaintedPearls
March 27th, 2008, 06:49 PM
How do you deal with someone stealing your images? I was looking in a thread and clicked on a link to another site and some of the graphics that I'm selling in my signature had been taken and my tag covered up. I haven't even sold any of them. How would you deal with it? I'm beyond pissed right now.
Anne
March 27th, 2008, 06:57 PM
First thing you do is out them... That is so lame!
Then you tell them take em down, or you are going to thier host.
Andrew2
March 27th, 2008, 07:03 PM
Yeah, someone here? I'd like to know who it is.. I wish we can stop being so private about this stuff... People say it causes drama, but it actually stops drama.. If the person is a buyer, the why shouldn't we avoid them? Get them banned etc.
What you can do, is write a c&d letter to them... Contact their host secondly.. And if things don't change then you can hire a hacker.
Anne
March 27th, 2008, 07:05 PM
I agree with you Andrew... I understand not wanting to cause someone embarrassment, but if they are stealing graphics, they NEED to be embarrassed.
Jen
March 27th, 2008, 07:09 PM
Time for a http://hellonturf.com/3285smilies/smilies/s0105/smilies/NewFolder4/hang.gif.
CharmRoyal
March 27th, 2008, 07:10 PM
I agree with what was said... it's ridiculous, people these days.
You'd think people who come here wouldn't know how to cover up a tag and what not but hey when someone wants something they figure it out right?
Next time put sample all over the graphic... it's just like shopping at the store. They put the security tags, you put the sample tags.
TaintedPearls
March 27th, 2008, 07:10 PM
i didnt put it out because the person who owns the site hasn't responded to my PM yet. yes andrew, they are a member here. I have no problem putting someone on blast. i did it to that somecodes.com guy and i'll do it again.
Andrew2
March 27th, 2008, 07:13 PM
I know the site owner might claim they bought them from someone, so you got to be careful.. They'll pull the innocent card, Just make sure the graphics are paid for or taken down.
If you see anyone else's graphics on the site or anything else that looks suspicious make sure you let us know :)
TaintedPearls
March 27th, 2008, 07:15 PM
well you all can go to the site it's www.hot-glitters.com check and see if your graphics are there. i know i didn't sell any of the glitters in the pack i'm advertising so they can't say they purchased them from me. i don't sell with resell rights either.
Andrew2
March 27th, 2008, 07:17 PM
That's taco/ryan's site :-/ Weird, this is no good.
He might of gotten them off kville.. from some ***.
Seems out of character, Cus he's spent money on graphics on msp.
TaintedPearls
March 27th, 2008, 07:20 PM
i purchased some thanks for the add glitters from taco a couple of days ago but the person advertising hot-glitters is using username rawrr and that's how i found the site. that person shows as online but hasn't responded to my PM.
i looked up the whois info on the domain and i saw lifeindigital and that's where i sent my pp payment to but the username didnt match up so now i don't know what to do.
Nora
March 28th, 2008, 03:47 PM
I usually have that with people hotlinking to my large brush set files.. a goatse picture pretty much fixed everything :biggrin:
Anyway, I think its best to contact the webhost right away. Sending the site owner emails can lead to threats.. just leave it all up to the host, it saves time and energy :)
If the site owner is innocent then they can prove it to their host, no need for you to have to deal with it.
JazzyJazzdotnet
March 29th, 2008, 07:37 PM
Yeah. Id like to know what happens.
Because Ryan is awesome, I agree with Andrew.
Alot of people steal from HERE and sell / trade other places & it sucks.
Hope you get it all figured out though...
TaintedPearls
April 1st, 2008, 01:10 PM
well the graphics got removed but they wouldn't tell me where they got the glitters. they only said that they hadn't updated that site in a while and would give their "partner" hell about it so I don't know who did it but they are off the site.
gowanstl24
April 2nd, 2008, 05:34 AM
lol goatse ><
Yep, that'll do it!
Kasami2k4
April 4th, 2008, 04:59 AM
Uhoh.. Ryan made a booboo.
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.