PDA

View Full Version : Someone registering .cn domain names of major sites


idzone
December 8th, 2007, 05:03 PM
Domain Name: pyzam.cn
ROID: 20070310s10001s31426597-cn
Domain Status: ok
Registrant Organization: MicroInfo Investments Ltd.
Registrant Name: Mark Kenneth
Administrative Email: akwholdings@yahoo.com
Sponsoring Registrar: China Springboard Inc.
Name Server:ns3.namerich.cn
Name Server:ns4.namerich.cn
Registration Date: 2007-03-10 02:12
Expiration Date: 2008-03-10 02:12
---------

I noticed that this person has registered .cn (and also com.cn) domain names of pyzam, whateverlife, myprofilepimp, my site and I assume/guess of lot many more myspace resource sites.

What implications do you think can this have? What is this person trying to do? All domains have been registered on same date.

PGZ
December 8th, 2007, 05:08 PM
Well if you have a trademark on your name you can get the domain from them but it will cost you some money and time to do so.

idzone
December 8th, 2007, 05:11 PM
I understand that. But is this person trying to achieve something else? He has registered lots of domains, it seems.

PGZ
December 8th, 2007, 05:28 PM
Yep the .cn and .com.cn are taken for my name.

Let them build it nice and good and then I will pay to have it taken from them or face lawsuit which they cant win cause Im trademarked.....

There are 2 other people that have the .net and .org but they havent really profited from the name so I dont waste my money.

PGZ
December 8th, 2007, 05:39 PM
Maybe they will make Big successful sites and then we get the domains and throw up copies of our own sites....LOL

Gotta have some fun with it but it is something to watch.

minnseoelite
December 8th, 2007, 07:10 PM
they probably register the names to try and get their site to show up in the serps for it. i imagine there is some decent traffic for terms like commentyou, pyzam, ect and very little competition

ituhitam
December 8th, 2007, 07:12 PM
the only reason i can think of is for typo purpose

i can think many will make this mistake:
commentyou.cm
commentyou.cn

that's why that one millionaire webmaster buys all " CM " domains.

cn is not different

Connections
December 9th, 2007, 12:26 AM
myprofilepimp is trademarked I am pretty sure...

Connections
December 9th, 2007, 12:27 AM
the only reason i can think of is for typo purpose

i can think many will make this mistake:
commentyou.cm
commentyou.cn

that's why that one millionaire webmaster buys all " CM " domains.

cn is not different


yes I was the one who posted about that domainer who purchased .cm YUN YE I think.

Benahue
December 9th, 2007, 11:55 AM
Does anyone know the answer to this legal question? Say one of these decent size traffic sites is not trademarked. If someone goes and trademarks the name, can they then sue the actual real site?

My guess would be yes. But I'm wondering if that's an over simplification.

minnseoelite
December 9th, 2007, 11:59 AM
technically they could but the original site owner could probably get it thrown out i would think by proving their site is older with the whois info idk

chprosites
December 9th, 2007, 12:39 PM
The legality of trademarks falls on whether or not two differing sites create confusion in the marketplace, such as the case with brand names. One would have to ask if a pyzam.com and a pyzam.cn could create such a confusion. Then again in America the real question would be which side has the better lawyers, ahem OJ.

PGZ
December 9th, 2007, 06:03 PM
Does anyone know the answer to this legal question? Say one of these decent size traffic sites is not trademarked. If someone goes and trademarks the name, can they then sue the actual real site?

My guess would be yes. But I'm wondering if that's an over simplification.

The answer is YES.....Its called domain squashing and it happens quite often. If your site name isnt trademarked then someone can in reality trademark said name and then take the domain from you regardless if your name was reg 10 years ago or not.

It will cost them some money to do it but its the people that have the money that do it.

I have mentioned this before in the forum somewhere but it was awhile ago.

Benahue
December 11th, 2007, 07:11 PM
Good to know.

Connections
December 12th, 2007, 06:15 PM
Does anyone know the answer to this legal question? Say one of these decent size traffic sites is not trademarked. If someone goes and trademarks the name, can they then sue the actual real site?

My guess would be yes. But I'm wondering if that's an over simplification.


If party (a) has a website and party (b) decided to register say the .net of their .com.

Party (b) is able to keep the domain for life, if the domain is registered before party (a) lodges the trade mark for the .com, and also the domain must not be used in bad faith.

Connections
December 12th, 2007, 06:20 PM
The answer is YES.....Its called domain squashing and it happens quite often. If your site name isnt trademarked then someone can in reality trademark said name and then take the domain from you regardless if your name was reg 10 years ago or not.

It will cost them some money to do it but its the people that have the money that do it.

I have mentioned this before in the forum somewhere but it was awhile ago.

If the domain is not registered in BAD faith, and or if the domain is registered before the trademark is lodged.

their is nothing the owners of the HUGE site can do.

Why do you think domains like myspace.net, myspace.org ect ect have never been sued? becuase they are not using the domains in bad faith and registered the domains before the trademark myspace.com was made.

Even if you have the "money" you will possibly still loose the case if you can not prove the use of "bad faith"

look at previous domain cases, huge artists, big business has not even been able to win a lot of doamins.